Comparison view

With the diagram and revision comparison tool, you can trace changes in diagram revisions. While the activity feed in the explorer gives you all the comments made on revisions of diagrams, the comparator displays two diagram revisions next to each other with all the changes marked according to their nature - alterations, deletions and additions. Here, you can compare any two revisions of a diagram to another. This can be helpful when you are working collaboratively with your colleagues and need to approve or implement the changes someone else has made to a process.

In addition, you can compare two different diagrams with each other. This is for example useful when you are checking your workspace for duplicates after you imported multiple diagrams if duplicates may have been created.

The diagram and revision comparison tool.

The diagram and revision comparison tool.

Opening the diagram comparison tool

There are three ways to open the comparison tool:

  • Via the menu bar

    In the Explorer, select a diagram - if you want to compare two different diagrams, select both of them. Then click Edit and then Compare revisions/diagrams in the top dropdown menu.

    Open the diagram comparison in the Explorer.

    Opening the comparison tool in the Explorer.

  • Via the activity feed

    It is also possible to use the Explorer’s activity feed to open the comparison tool. Select a diagram revision in the feed and then click Open to Compare.

    Opening the comparator via the activity feed.

    Opening the comparator via the activity feed.

  • Via the Editor

    You can switch directly from the Editor to the comparison tool by selecting Diagram comparison in the dropdown menu on the top right. Make sure that the latest version of the diagram is saved before switching tools. To get back to the Editor, you will have to open the diagram in the Explorer again.

    Switch between the different tools.

Switch between the different tools.

Display options

By using the zoom slider in the top left corner you can change the diagram size, for example, for very large diagrams to view large diagrams at a glance.

The zoom slider in the comparison tool.

The zoom slider in the comparison tool.

In addition, you can move diagram snippets by holding down the left mouse button and drag the map in the desired direction.

By default, navigating through the diagrams is synchronized in both windows - if you zoom into one diagram, the other diagram will zoom in, too. You can deactivate this feature by unchecking Synchronized scrolling.

Deselect 'Synchronized scrolling' to only navigate one window at a time.

Deselection of ‘Synchronized scrolling’.

Selecting a revision

The comparison view shows the respective revisions of the two diagrams. To switch to a diffrent revion, proceed as follows:

  1. Select top left in the dropdown menu the desired revision number.
Revision selection via the dropdown menu.
  1. Alternatively, you can click Choose revisions/diagrams to select a different diagram for the comparison. The corresponding dialog box opens. Now all diagrams of the workspace in all revisons are displayed.
The diagram/revision selection.
  1. Choose now between all diagrams and their revisions.
Choose two diagrams to compare them.
  1. Click Compare.

Diagram information displayed in the comparison tool

The diagram comparison shows structural and logical differences between diagrams or diagram revisions. When changing the order of tasks in a sequence flow, this may be easily recognizable when looking at the two diagrams. Other non-visible changes, like altering an attribute or adding a dictionary entry to an element, would not be visible when simply comparing two diagrams. Thus, all changes in the diagrams or diagram revisions are marked as follows. Hover the mouse above such a symbol on the right upper corner of an element to get more detailed information:

The following table lists all possible changes.

Change (image) Description
../../_images/compare_newelement.png
New elements: An element has been added to the diagram.
../../_images/compare_changedattribute.png
Changed attribute: the element’s attribute(s) has/have been changed.
../../_images/compare_changedglossaryentry.png
Changes in the dictionary: a dictionary entry has been added, removed or changed on this element.
../../_images/compare_removedelement.png
Changes in roles: the role the element was assigned to has changed.
../../_images/compare_diagram.png
Deletions: an element has been removed from the diagram.

At the bottom of the window, you get information about how many changes of the same kind have occured. If there are many changes, you may want to turn off some change notes. For example, if a lane was deleted the role mapping changes at all of the elements. In this case, you can turn off all references to changed roles. For this purpose, use the selection at the bottom of the view.

By disabling the checkbox 'Changed role' you can turn off all references to changed roles.

By disabling the checkbox ‘Changed role’ you can turn off all references to changed roles.